Follow us on
Find us on Facebook


Nova Awards and 2014 Fanzine Long List

In 1973, Novacon instituted the annual Nova Awards to celebrate achievement in British science fiction fanzines. Originally decided by a panel of judges, voting was subsequently extended to all Novacon members who could demonstrate a basic knowledge of current fanzines.

Following Novacon 32, the three categories - best fanzine, best fanzine writer, best fanzine artist - were extended to cover fanzines produced in Eire. In addition, electronic fanzines are now eligible.

Beginning with the 2011 Nova Awards, voting was extended to all UK / Irish residents who have read at least six qualifying fanzines published during the eligibility period.

On-line voting is now open and you can do this using the Voting Form here.

A downloadable voting form (PDF format) is available here.

And of course paper voting forms will be available at the convention.

The following ‘longlist’ details eligible fanzines known to the current administrator, along with the name of the editor(s). The majority are available to read or download at

Eligible fanzines
Ansible #314-325 (Dave Langford)
Banana Wings #54-56 (Claire Brialey and Mark Plummer)
The Banksoniain #20 (David Haddock)
Beam #7 (Nic Farey & Jim Mowatt)
Brum Group News #504 -515 (Carol Goodwin, for the Birmingham Science Fiction Group)
Curt Phillips for TAFF (Claire Brialey & Randy Byers)
Data Dump #186-198 (Steve Sneyd)
Drink Tank - various undated issues 2013-14 (James Bacon, Chris Garcia, Vanessa Applegate)
Eat that Duck #5 (Ron Gemmell)
Exhibition Hall #26 (James Bacon, Chris Garcia, Ariane Wolfe)
FFix #33 (Steve Green)
Griff #6, 7(Ian Milsted)
Head! #12 (Doug Bell, Christina Lake)
Inca #10 (Rob Jackson)
Jiant #1, 2 (Sandra Bond)
Journey Planet #16, 17, 18 (James Bacon, Chris Garcia)
A Meara for Observers #17 (Mike Meara)
Nowhere Fan #2 (Christina Lake)
The Pigeon Post #1-13 (eds. Flick, Ang Roisin, Zara Baxter)
Pips #10.5 (Jim Mowatt)
Procrastinations #13 (John Coxon)
Raucous Caucus #3 (Pat Charnock)
Refraction #1 (Gary S. Wilkinson)
Relapse Supplement: The sage of Nuneaton (Peter Weston)
!Shoes #6 (Yvonne Rowse)
TAFFtastic #1-3 (Jim Mowatt, Jacq Monahan)
TAFFWorld #1 (Jim Mowatt)
A Tale from the White Hart (Ron Gemmell)
Vibrator #2.0.1-2.0.7 (Graham Charnock)